Where to get tested and cost?
Your health care provider: Confidential HIV testing must be offered at least once as a routine part of health care to all patients age 13 or older. If your health care provider hasn’t offered HIV testing to you, talk to them about it. HIV testing is covered by Medicaid and most health insurance plans without co-pays or cost-sharing.
Community Based Organization: Many community organizations offer confidential HIV testing free of charge in a safe environment. You can get linked to care and find out about other resources. To find HIV testing locations near you, visit: STD Clinics in New York State
Sexual Health Clinic or STI Clinic: Sexual Health Clinics in NYC and Sexual Health Clinics and STIs clinics upstate, provide low to no-cost services for sexually transmitted infections (STIs), including HIV. Anyone who is 12 or older can receive walk-in services, regardless of immigration status. No parental consent is necessary.
Testing at home: Self-test kits are available for store purchase and allow you to test yourself in private at home through either an oral swab or finger-stick blood test. After you've collected your sample, you need to send it to the lab to be tested. The time it takes to receive your results varies from 3 days to 2 weeks, depending on the company.
Anonymous testing site: At an anonymous test site you do not have to provide your name. For information on how to get a free, anonymous HIV test, call the Anonymous HIV Counseling and Testing Program.
- Albany Region: 1-800-962-5065
- Buffalo Region: 1-800-962-5064
- Long Island Region (Suffolk/Nassau): 1-800-462-6786
- Lower Hudson Valley Region: 1-800-828-0064
- Rochester Region: 1-800-962-5063; TDD: 1-585-423-8120
- Syracuse Region: 1-800-562-9423
- New York City: 311 to for information on DOHMH STD clinics
New York State Department of Health offers a FREE HIV home test kit giveaway. See if you’re eligible for a FREE HIV home test kit
Can I get tested if I’m under 18?
- Your health care provider should offer you an HIV test starting at age 13.
- If you are a minor you can consent to HIV testing, prevention, like PrEP and PEP, and HIV treatment if you are living with HIV. You do not need your parent’s permission.
- For more information about minor consent, visit: State Laws that Enable a Minor to Provide Informed Consent to Receive HIV and STD Services
Below are some resources that will help you understand HIV testing, prevention and health. These links can help you find the answer to frequently asked questions, understand your patient rights and get more information about what your results mean. If you still have questions about HIV testing, talk to a health care provider.
If You Have an HIV Negative Test Result:
If You Have an HIV+ Test Result:
- Day-One: Start Treatment Today!
- Trans Male(9942)
- Older Man(9952)
- Stay Connected: If you are over 50, routine health care is important(0178)
- Stay Connected Poster(0186)
Expect the Test
Uninsured Care Programs (Toll free)
Get assistance paying for health care and lab expenses for PrEP.
- 1-800-541-2437 English
- 1-800-233-7432 Spanish
Post-Exposure Prophylaxis Hotlines
Provides a prescription for medication to prevent getting HIV if you begin taking it as soon as possible within 72 hours after an exposure.
- Outside NYC: 844-PEP4NOW (844-737-4669)
- In NYC: 844-3-PEPNYC (844-373-7692)